Recent Posts

BorgWarner Presents Trophy To Indianapolis 500 Winner Dario Franchitti on Astini News

AUBURN HILLS, Mich., May 31, 2012 /PRNewswire/ -- Marking the beginning of its second century as the "Greatest Race in History," BorgWarner (BWA) Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Timothy M. Manganello presented Dario Franchitti with the Borg-Warner Trophy™ following his victory at the 2012 Indianapolis 500. His sterling silver image will be added to the prestigious and historic trophy for the third time. Franchitti joins an elite group of only 10 drivers who have achieved three or more victories at the Indianapolis 500.

(Photo: )

"The Borg-Warner Trophy symbolizes a long tradition of achievement, competitive performance and technology leadership at the Indianapolis 500 -- the same qualities and spirit that drives everyone at BorgWarner," said Manganello. "This year, we are also very proud to have earned a spot in every car in the field as the exclusive supplier of turbochargers for the IZOD IndyCar Series."

BorgWarner's EFR (for "Engineered For Racing") turbochargers offer an unprecedented combination of advanced technologies designed to boost the performance of down-sized engines while improving fuel economy. Streamlined EFR turbochargers for the IZOD IndyCar Series feature low-weight Gamma-Ti turbine wheels and shaft assemblies for quick boost response. Patent-pending ceramic ball bearings increase thrust capacity and durability while improving turbine efficiency at low expansion ratios. The investment cast stainless steel turbine housing also increases efficiency, improves durability and resists corrosion.

About BorgWarner and the Indianapolis 500
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway was founded in early 1909 by four Indiana businessmen, including Frank Wheeler from the Wheeler-Schebler Carburetor Company, which later merged with several other companies to become part of Borg-Warner Corporation. In 1911, Ray Harroun won the first Indianapolis 500 race, driving a Marmon Wasp which was designed by Louis Schwitzer, an innovative engineer and founder of an early turbocharger business later acquired by BorgWarner.

In 1936, the Borg-Warner Trophy made its inaugural appearance at the Speedway when it was presented to winner Louis Meyer. Made of over 100 pounds of sterling silver and standing five feet, six inches tall, the trophy originally cost $10,000 and is currently valued at $1.5 million. The Borg-Warner Trophy stays on permanent display at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame Museum. To give the winner and team owners a personal keepsake of their victory, BorgWarner established the BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy™ (also known as the "Baby Borg") in 1988 and the BorgWarner Team Owner's Trophy™ in 1998. Both are sterling silver replicas of the Borg-Warner Trophy.

For more information about the trophies, visit and choose "The Indianapolis 500" from the "Company" pull-down menu at the top of the home page. 

About BorgWarner
Auburn Hills, Michigan-based BorgWarner Inc. (BWA) is a technology leader in highly engineered components and systems for powertrain applications worldwide. Operating manufacturing and technical facilities in 59 locations in 19 countries, the company develops products to improve fuel economy, reduce emissions and enhance performance. Customers include VW/Audi, Ford, Toyota, Renault/Nissan, General Motors, Hyundai/Kia, Daimler, Chrysler, Fiat, BMW, Honda, John Deere, PSA, and MAN. For more information, please visit

The Borg-Warner Trophy, BorgWarner Championship Driver's Trophy, and BorgWarner Championship Team Owner's Trophy are trademarks of BorgWarner Inc. IndyCar (and Design) are registered trademarks of Brickyard Trademarks, Inc., used with permission. IZOD is registered trademark of pVH Corp, used with permission.

What's on Your Mind...